The Krait Mod

Stefan Ulrich

Introduction

Hi everyone! My name is Stefan and I’m a 27-year-old student at Heidelberg University in Germany.  My subject is “Transcultural Studies†which focuses on the interactions between Asia and Europe in a global context.  In my leisure time, I’m interested in 3D modeling and like to realize my ideas as props. That is why I’ve tried already different materials for modeling. In case modding, I’m less experienced and the mod, I will create for this contest, is just the second case mod, I ever made. 

I would like to take the Cooler Master case mod contest as an opportunity to build up a scratch mod, made completely by myself using techniques and materials that are available and easy to handle for everyone.  

The concept

The focus of my scratch mod will be on the MSI X99S SLI krait edition motherboard. Inspired from the design of the krait on the package, I am planning to build a head of a krait. In order to fit all the hardware in and for aesthetic purposes, my design will be a mixture between a stylized and a natural krait. Excepting the hardware, I will not use any pre-assembled, fabricated or machined parts. The aim is to build up everything from scratch and 100% handmade. Currently, I am working on the 3D-model of my final design. The model allows me to fit the hardware and to simulate possible functions. I still have to make some decisions regarding materials and components that I will use, because I want to keep the mod as cost-efficient as possible without depreciating the design. Space is another limitation, since I’m working in a 5 m²-cellar during winter. May I show in this way, that spatial restrictions can be overcome by creativity?         

The Hardware