[Scratch Build] â—„FLIGHTLINEâ–º - Completed

Jeffrey Stephenson

Hi, my name is Jeffrey Stephenson aka slipperyskip. I have been building custom computers as a hobby since 2002. You can see my work at HERE. I won my category in the 2009 Cooler Master contest (Mission) and placed third in 2011 (Usonian).

Flightline is an Art Deco sunburst design inspired by the architecture of the Wright Brothers Memorial at Kitty Hawk, North Carolina. The case consists of 167 pieces of hand-cut maple and mahogany veneer laid over a frame of lacewood and aircraft-grade birch plywood.

Final Photos:

151.jpg

157.jpg

155.jpg

162.jpg

161.jpg

044.JPG
Wright Brothers Memorial at Kitty Hawk, North Carolina

098.jpg

101.jpg

135.jpg

153.jpg

156.jpg

152.jpg

Project Log:

001.jpg
After a 20-hour work marathon I put together this chassis.

002.jpg
18 pieces of wood assembled onto a 1/16" sheet of birch plywood. The wood is all basswood (AKA lacewood) except the darker center piece. That is 1/4" thick maple.

003.jpg
Many of the boards, including the maple, are simply to stiffen the structure. 1/16" (1.6mm) plywood is easy to work with and keeps the project thin but needs a little help to prevent flexing.

004.jpg
Gigabyte offers three thin mini-ITX models This is the high-end H77 chipset version.

005.jpg
One of the tricks in keeping the board thin is use of laptop-style SODIMM memory

007.jpg
The thin mini-ITX I/O shield is exactly 1/2 the height of a standard ATX standard I/O shield. Some board makers include a full height shield to use in a standard chassis.

006.jpg
If you installed a "normal" heatsink onto a thin mini-ITX board it would no longer be thin. Intel makes this heatsink and AFAIK it is the only such product on the market.
008.jpg

009.jpg