[Scratch Build] The Cabinet

Jani Ojennus

Hello everyone!

This is my first project here.

For about 6 years I have been thinking of making computer case that would be similar style to my old desk.

But being man with family and being student again after years in work, my budget is/was very limited. That means that I will be using as

affordable parts as possible. Many components have been bought secondhand. Goal is to build computer that would suit to my desk and some other things.

In future I will be making home-office for my self. It will be located in basement of our house. It will be made in same style as my computer, desk and some furniture.

But that's completely different story.

Last summer I went to local secondhand-shop where I noticed similar desk to mine, but it was painted brown. That got my thoughts running, being summer vacation and all. Being painted had essentially ruined it. Desk had been there for few weeks with price of 100 €, eventually price had dropped to 60 €.

After explaining that I would be putting it to parts, thus I didn't give much value to it, I bought it at fair price of 20 euros. After paying I said to shopkeeper that I will take it to parts there to be able to fit it in car (I didn't want to go and borrow a van from my dad). Shopkeeper asked how I was planning to do that, and I replied that I'll somehow cut the top of desk with something, like for example the chainsaw next to me in shelf..

Shopkeeper started laughing, handed the said chainsaw to me. Look in fellow customers faces was really fun to watch when I cut that desk to three parts.. Well, after that it fitted to car nicely. :D