V8 CM 09 Mod Contest Worklog

bigbazz

Welcome to my first mod :D

I have built half a dozen pcs prior to this but this is my first attempt at modding and watercooling and it has quickly grown on me.

The theme for my mod is a V8 engine. I started work on it a couple of months ago and came across this contest whilst browsing the site and I thought I'd share my worklog :D It is a little scattered and all over the but Ill try and catagorise each major part.

Hardware

Case - CoolerMaster CM 690

CPU - Intel Core i7 920

Mainboard - Gigabyte GA-EX58-EXTREME

Memory - OCZ 3x2gb 1600mhz

GPU - Gigabyte NVidia 260GTX 216

Power - Corsair HX-1000

Apologies for some of the poor image qualities

DSC00494.jpg

Alright ill start with one of the smaller mods.

DSC00497.jpg

My friend mr OCZ met with flat head screwdriver

DSC00502.jpg

And got a facelift

DSC00505.jpg

DSC00504.jpg

And the remains of the old heatspeader

Modding my graphics card was a little more challenging

I had an idea that graphics cards should have a window and a little more bling lighting

DSC00506.jpg

The Patient

DSC00507.jpg

DSC00508.jpg

DSC00509.jpg

And now my first major problem arose...

Unfortunately the heatsink I had purchased suited the old 260GTX and not the new one and due to the board design change a row of capacitors prevented the heatsink making contact so heatsink met with my friend mr dremel.

DSC00515.jpg

Voila we have a perfect fit now :D

DSC00516.jpg

DSC00517.jpg

I then cut out a spot for the window and for the tubing

DSC00527.jpg

A part off the old heatsink was cut so that I could reattach the orignal cover to the board

DSC00533.jpg

The underside of the completed cover. The left side has a new 70mm fan and the chunk of heatsink. The right has another couple of bits of the heatsink as well as a couple of LEDs

DSC00537.jpg

The final card all tubed up ready to go

DSC00539.jpg

Card with bling turned on

DSC00540.jpg

And close up

Case Dismantling